Banner 26
Home Link Link to Listing Page Link to Projects Management Link
Link to Board of Directors Page Link to Investors Link to Presentations Page Link to Contact Us
Link to Dee width=      




Ferro Vanadium






Platinum Bars






Pig Iron
















Sable Exploration and Mining Limited - Board of Directors

The Board and the Committees will be as follows:

Ian Bird, Chair / Independent Non-Executive Director
Hazel Bango-Moyo, Lead Independent Non-Executive Director
Nyameka Madikizela, Independent Non-Executive Director
Deon Botha, Executive Director (CFO)
James Allan, Executive Director (CEO)
Enver Motala, Non-Executive Director
Ulrich Bester, Executive Director in the role of Business Development and Member of the Remuneration and Nominations Committee

Audit & Risk Committee
Hazel Bango-Moyo, Chair
Nyameka Madikizela
Ian Bird

Remuneration & Nominations Committee
Nyameka Madikizela, Chair
Deon Botha
James Allan
Ulrich Bester

Social & Ethics Committee
Ian Bird, Chair
Hazel Bango-Moyo
James Allan

James Gordon Allan
Chief Executive officer
BSc (Eng.) (Mining) 1982 M.B.A. 1985

James Allan is a co-founder and a director of Sable Platinum Holdings Proprietary Limited. He has been involved in the mining and financial service industries for the past 40 years. During this time, he has been a partner at Anderson Wilson and Partners, Barnard Jacobs Mellet and became a top-rated diamond analyst. He has started a number of companies in the mining industry. In 2006 he formed Allan Hochreiter Proprietary Limited with René Hochreiter and Sable Platinum Mining Proprietary Limited with René Hochreiter and David Levithan. Sable was listed in 2012.

James was appointed to the Board on 23 November 2012.

Deon Botha
Chief Financial Officer

Ms Nyameka Madikizela
Independent non-executive director of the company effective 21 April 2023

Nyameka has held senior positions in the Property and Logistics industries, both in the Public and Private Sectors. Her most senior positions were as Chief Executive Officer at PRASA, Corporate Real Estate Solutions (CRES), and as the Chief Operating Officer of Calulo Property Fund, a REIT listed on the JSE. She has been active in the transformative agenda, leading transformation in the Property Charter, as President of South African Institute of Black Property Practitioners (2006 - 2008).

Mr Ian Bird
Independent non-executive director of the company effective 21 April 2023

Ian is a Chartered Accountant who completed articles at the-then Ernst & Young. After qualifying, Ian was appointed as the Management Accountant for the-then Spoornet (now Transnet Freight Rail) and developed a passion for the transportation of bulk commodities and logistics in general.

After an initial 6 years as Management Accountant, Ian then spent the last 4 years of his Transnet career as the executive responsible for the Export Coal Line to Richards Bay Coal Terminal engaging at a strategic level with the multinational coal exporters, as well as other users of the rail system to Richards Bay.

To further develop his skill and expertise in rail transportation of bulk commodities, Ian then transitioned into consulting and in the course of his career has advised executive teams and business leaders at Anglo American, South Dunes Coal Terminal, Eskom, Exxaro Resources, Barloworld Logistics, ArcelorMittal, TATA International, and Imperial Logistics.

Ian has also partnered with best of breed consulting firms such as Oliver Wyman, HATCH, the BIGEN Group and RCE in developing rail-based logistics solutions.

Ms Hazel Bango-Moyo
Independent non-executive director of the company effective 21 April 2023

Hazel is a qualified Chartered Accountant (South Africa) and a Registered Auditor with over 19 years of experience providing audit and advisory services to clients in South Africa, Australia and the USA in a variety of industries. She is the Managing Director and founder of Primorial, a broad-spectrum accounting services provider for Small and Medium businesses throughout Africa.

She was appointed as a partner/director at Deloitte & Touche in 2013 where she held such positions in South Africa and Australia until her resignation in 2017. She has solid experience servicing enterprises in financial institutions (including Private Equity), Technology Media and Telecommunications, Manufacturing and Not-for-Profit industries. Her experience with Not-for-Profits is gained from highly regulated Not-for- Profit jurisdictions of the USA and Australia.

Hazel has a passion for small business and the development of women executives in the workplace. The impact that she makes is through the support of, largely, small businesses to achieve their potential by overcoming the typical challenges that hinder their growth.

Mr Ulrich Bester
Executive Director in the role of Business Development and Member of the Remuneration and Nominations Committee effective 15 May 2023

Ulrich has over 27 years’ experience in the mining industry. He graduated with a BSc degree in Mining Engineering from the University of the Witwatersrand in 2000.

During his eight on-mine years he worked on gold, platinum group metals and coal mines in South Africa.

Ulrich spent 12 years in consulting in various roles. During 2018 he was appointed as a Financial Director to an AltX listed mining company where he also performed the function of Chief operating officer.

In 2019 Ulrich graduated with an MCom in finance from the University of Johannesburg and spent the last four years consulting in mining and mining finance.

Web page updated: 14 September, 2023
Web Design: G Hochreiter;